Banana Sticky Date Pudding with Maple-Caramel Sauce

For the past month of so I’ve been getting a weekly delivery of fruit and vegetables from local farmers. This has left me with an abundance of both banana’s and carrots which prompted me to think up some recipes to use these ingredients. I wanted to do some kind of variation on a sticky date pudding and so here we are with a banana sticky date pudding! I’m going to attempt a carrot version later this week to be used at a work morning tea.

I added in maple syrup for a bit of a twist. It makes the pudding sweet, but that means you only need a small slice to feel satisfied.

The sides and bottom were slightly too brown for my liking to next time I’ll line them with more baking paper but there was no bitter burnt taste at all.

I never knew a creamy caramel sauce was this easy! I’m probably going to be sorry that I now know though since I’ll want to make it to put on everything! Will power be my friend!

Serves 8

Pudding
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1 1/2 cups pitted dates
1 tsp bicarb soda
60g butter, slightly softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 cup self-raising flour
2 very ripe bananas

Sauce
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 cup cream
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
150g butter, chopped

Pudding
Grease and line the base with baking paper of whichever tin you’d like to use. You could use either a 20cm round tin or a rectangle loaf tin.

Combine water and maple syrup in small pan and bring to the boil. Add the dates, bring back to the boil, then immediately remove pan from the heat.

Stir in the bicarb soda and leave to stand for 5 minutes.

In a food processor pour in the date mixture and blend with the butter and sugar until almost smooth. Add the eggs, flour and banana and process using the pulse button until just combined.

Pour the mixture into the tin and bake at 180C for 50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. After 20 minutes I covered my pudding in alfoil to stop the top from browning too much.

Once cooked, cool in the tin for 10 minutes and then gently take it out of the tin and cool it on a wire rack.

Sauce

Combine sugar, cream, maple syrup and butter in a small saucepan, bring to the boil and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Watch it, as it may boil over. You can then either pour the sauce over the whole pudding, or like me, cut a slice and pour a few spoonfuls over each slice.

Serve with ice-cream.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

